Annie's Books on Peregian

Annie’s Books on Peregian is to be found in the heart of magical Peregian Beach Village, tucked into the sand dunes just a few kilometres south of iconic Noosa Heads.

Fitting snugly in amongst unique, owner operated retail businesses, the bookshop is in an ideal location for locals and visitors alike. It may be a small shop, but it is packed with treasures, and we pride ourselves in keeping up with the latest trends in literature and new releases, right across all genres.

``Good friends, good books and a sleepy conscience: this is the ideal life`` - Mark Twain

If you can’t find what you are looking for on our shelves, we will be very happy to order books – it is one of our specialities.

We have three very well-read and experienced booksellers who all read voraciously and have extensive knowledge of all kinds of reading.

Meet the Team

Top 5 New Releases This Month

Get in Touch with Annie the Book Detective!

Do you need help finding a book? or Would you like a Book Recommendation?

Was there a book you loved as a child and want to pass on to your children?

Is there something you always meant to read, but cannot find it on the shelves any more?

Whether the book you are looking for is common or rare, in or out of print, new or old, I will don my hunting cap and seek it out!

Just give me whatever details you have, and we’ll start looking….

Send us a message via the contact form below and we will be in touch

Ask Annie

Book Reviews From The Community

Upcoming Events

BOOK SIGNING AT ANNIE’S BOOKS

SATURDAY 25th MAY – 10:00AM – MIDDAY

NO CHARGE

victoria-vanstone-anniesbooks-book-signing-saturday-25th-may.bak

Victoria Vanstone is the host of SOBER AWKWARD, winner of the Best Wellbeing Podcast of 2023, and also a renowned over-sharer on her blog drunkmummysobermummy.com. This reformed party girl is now on a mission to help other stuck in a pattern of normalised binge drinking. A THOUSAND WASTED SUNDAYS is an hilarious, honest and poignant memoir from a very, very talented young woman. Come down to the bookshop and meet Victoria – we guarantee that you will enjoy the experience!!

MARY GARDEN – “MY FATHER’S SUITCASE”

THURSDAY 6th JUNE – 6.00PM

ON THE FOOTPATH AT ANNIE’S BOOKS

AUTHOR TALK WITH WINE & CHEESE

THIS IS A FREE EVENT

LIMITED SEATING:  YOU ARE WELCOME TO BRING A FOLDING CHAIR.

Mary Garden was born in New Zealand and has a PhD from the University of the Sunshine Coast. Working as a freelance journalist, her writing has appeared in a range of publications, including Newsroom, New Zealand Geographic, Meanjin, The Weekend Australian, Australian Financial Review and The Humanist (US). Her first book The Serpent Rising (1988, 2003), a memoir of her years entangled with various gurus in India in the 1970s, won the High Country Indie Book Award 2021. Sundowner of the Skies, a biography of her father Oscar Garden, was short-listed for the NSW Premier’s History Award 2020. She now lives in Castlemaine, Australia.

A gripping tale of resilience and survival that offers hope to others who have experienced family violence and suffered at the hands of a sibling.

A deeply personal and heartbreaking memoir that explores the troubled relationship between Mary Garden and her younger sister, Anna, who died in 2023 after a short illness.  Mary unpacks her life of growing up in New Zealand in the 1950s and ’60s, before making Australia home. She reveals complex layers of intergenerational trauma, including the baggage of her eccentric, deeply flawed father and the secret her mother kept from all of them, revealed only after her death. Mary deals movingly with her sister’s long battle with mental illness and how she once saved Anna’s life.

As she unravels these narratives, Mary touches on the guilt and shame familiar to anyone who has had to deal with secrets, violence and ‘madness’ in their family. And she shines a light on sibling abuse, the most common form of abuse in the context of family violence – occurring up to five times as frequently as spousal or parental child abuse – although it is often dismissed as ‘sibling rivalry’. It causes far-reaching, long-lasting harm.

SHELLEY DAVIDOW – “THE GIRL WITH THE VIOLIN”

THURSDAY 4TH JULY – 6.00-8.00pm

SUNSHINE BEACH SURF CLUB

AUTHOR TALK, DINNER & A GLASS OF WINE!

$90.00 per person

Bookings: 5448 2053 info@anniesbooks.com.au

Shelley Davidow is a fine, fine writer!  THE GIRL WITH THE VIOLIN is Shelley’s brand new novel.  Shelley was in Berlin when the Wall came down, and recently visited again to ensure her novel would be steeped in truth and atmosphere.

It is a powerful love story in which one woman’s quest for identity and healing also becomes the single way she can honour her grandparents, whose lives were irreversibly shattered by the Holocaust. Perfect for readers of Anna Funder and Megan Rogers

Shelley is originally from South Africa, but has spent two decades living and working all over the world.  She has lived in England, Qatar,the USA and is now based on Queensland’s Sunshine Coast, which is her forever home.  “I wasn’t exactly aspiring to be such a globe-trotter, in fact, I coveted stability;  but living in diverse places has given me a far-ranging experience of humanity which is never a bad thing for a writer. But Australia is my fifth and final continent”.

Shelley is the author of around fifty books and writes across almost all genres. She is a senior lecturer in the School of Education at USC, a facilitator of Restorative Practice and runs workshops in building social and emotional health.  Shelley is a founding member (as am I) of Write on the Coast, and runs national and international workshops in creative writing.

    ``A house without books is like a room without windows`` - Horace Mann

    Community

    Community is important to all of us.

    We treasure our place in this jewel of the Sunshine Coast.

    We have strong ties to local schools, libraries and clubs, and you will see that we are regularly involved in local events, as well as hosting a multitude of our own book events from the smallest local authors to those of international renown.

    ``Literature Is My Utopia`` - Helen Keller